World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Third Book of Songs for Flute Quartet

Digital Sheet Music

By John Dowland

Be the first! Write a Review

Flute, Woodwind Quartet, Flute Quartet - Intermediate - Digital Download
Composed by John Dowland (1563-1626). Arranged by Lisa Ochoco. Renaissance, Recital. Score, Set of Parts. 66 pages. Published by Lisa Ochoco (S0.596935).

Item Number: S0.596935

John Dowland (1562 – 1626) was alutenist and singer in the Renaissance Period. The lute was a stringedinstrument, most closely related to our guitar. He wrote quite a lot ofmusic that is still played and sung by guitarists and singers today. Althoughhis music was written for stringed instruments in general, many arrangers haveadapted his works for wind instruments.

This collection of 20 songs from his “ThirdBook of Songs” is arranged for flute quartet – 4 C flutes or 3 C flutes andalto. Most of these songs are rather short, so it is recommended that each songis played in its entirety at least twice. I arranged these songs so that the 1st flute always has the melody. To practice fairness in all parts, the partsshould be rotated, to give each musician a chance to play the melody.

Song list:

1.    Farewell Too Fair

2.    Time Stands Still

3.    Behold a Wonder Here

4.    Daphne Was Not so Chaste

5.    Me, Me, and None but Me

6.    When Phoebus First did Daphne Love

7.    Say Love if Ever Thou Didst Find

8.    Flow Not so Fast Ye Fountains

9.    What if I Never Speed?

10.  Love Stood Amaz’d

11.  Lend Your Ears to My Sorrow

12.  By a Fountain Where I Lay

13.  O What Hath Overwrought

14.  Farewell Unkind

15.  Weep You no More, Sad Fountains

16.  Fie on This Feigning

17.  I Must Complain

18.  It was a Time When Silly Bees

19.  The Lowest Trees Have Tops

20.  What Poor Astronomers are They

If each song isplayed twice in its entirety, you will have almost an hour's worth of music.

If you love Renaissancemusic, this will be a great addition to your repertoire!

About SMP Press

This product was created by a member of SMP Press, our global community of independent composers, arrangers, and songwriters. Our independent musicians have created unique compositions and arrangements for the Sheet Music Plus community, many of which are not available anywhere else.

Click here to see more titles from these independent creators and to learn more about SMP Press.

Please note this product may not be eligible for all sales, promotions or coupons offered through Sheet Music Plus - please check promotional details for specifics.

About Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads are downloadable sheet music files that can be viewed directly on your computer, tablet or mobile device. Once you download your digital sheet music, you can view and print it at home, school, or anywhere you want to make music, and you don’t have to be connected to the internet. Just purchase, download and play!

PLEASE NOTE: Your Digital Download will have a watermark at the bottom of each page that will include your name, purchase date and number of copies purchased. You are only authorized to print the number of copies that you have purchased. You may not digitally distribute or print more copies than purchased for use (i.e., you may not print or digitally distribute individual copies to friends or students).

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.