World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Nine Symphonies

By Ludwig van Beethoven

Orchestra (Orchestra)
Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). Edited by Jonathan Del Mar. This edition: urtext edition. In a slipcase. Barenreiter Urtext. 9 study scores in a boxed set. Classical Period. Study scores (9 paperbound volumes in slipcase). With introductory text. 1107 pages. Duration 26 minutes. Baerenreiter Verlag #TP00900. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.TP00900).

Item Number: BA.TP00900

ISBN 9790006204526. 6.5x9 inches.

The scores and performing material to this most famous symphony cycle enjoy the unabashed praise of conductors, performers and critics around the world. This edition can be heard not only every day in concert halls, but also on CD recordings by John Eliot Gardiner, David Zinman, Jos van Immerseel and in the new cycle conducted by Claudio Abbado and the Berlin Philharmonic just released by Deutsche Grammophon. The reference set of Beethoven's Symphonies is available at an affordable price to every student, conductor and Beethoven fan.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


  • No. 1 In C Major, Op. 21 
  • No. 2 In D Major, Op. 36 
  • No. 3 In Eb Major, Op. 55 (Eroica) 
  • No. 4 In Bb Major, Op. 60 
  • No. 5 In C Minor, Op. 67 
  • No. 6 In F Major, Op. 68 (Pastorale) 
  • No. 7 In A Major, Op. 92 
  • No. 8 In F Major, Op. 93 
  • No. 9 In D Minor, Op. 125 
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 4

    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Difficulty Level:
  • May 19, 2007 Jonathan del Mar's fine edition

    The scholar Jonathan del Mar has edited the nine Beethoven symphonies, apparently the first time this has been done with scholarly rigor. (The noted reference work "The Beethoven Compendium" as recently as 1991, before del Mar started work, noted that no scholarly edition of the symphonies was then available.) I...

    wish there had been a little more space to include the most striking editorial highlights, but apparently these are reserved for the separately published "Critical Commentary" volumes. Nevertheless, del Mar's edition will surely be a valuable resource and a landmark for years to come.

    Read More
    27 of 52 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.