World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Hebrides, op. 26

Concert Overture

By Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn

Be the first! Write a Review

Orchestra (2 Fl, 2 Ob, 2 clarinet-ia, 2 bassoon, 2 Hn, 2 Trp, timpani, 2 Violin, Viola, Cello, Double Bass)
Concert Overture. Composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn (1809-1847). Edited by Christopher Hogwood. This edition: urtext edition. Stapled. Barenreiter Urtext. Study Score. Opus 26. Duration 12 minutes. Baerenreiter Verlag #TP00395. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.TP00395).

Item Number: BA.TP00395

ISBN 9790006205172. 22.5 x 16.5 cm inches. Preface: Christopher Hogwood.

Mendelssohn mentioned this work for the first time in a letter written in Scotland to his family Mendelssohn mentioned this work for the first time in a letter written in Scotland to his family quoting the first 21 bars of this programmatic overture. Over the years it was to receive numerous revisions.

Firstly, there were twoRomeversions, the first of which Mendelssohn played to Berlioz on the piano. These were followed by twoLondonversions.

Barenreiter's new Urtext study score includes the two London versions, following the scholarly-critical edition of all four versions edited by Christopher Hogwood and published in 2004 (BA 9053).

- Urtext edition reflecting the latest musicological knowledge
- Foreword (Eng/Ger)
- Suitable for study in schools, music conservatoires and universities

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.