World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


String Quartets, op. 59

By Ludwig van Beethoven

Be the first! Write a Review

First violin, second violin, viola, cello
Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). Edited by Jonathan Del Mar. This edition: urtext edition. In a folder. Barenreiter Urtext. Streichquartett Kammermusik (String Quartets, Chamber Music). Set of Parts; Urtext Edition. Opus 59. 41/41/37/39 pages. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09017. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09017).

Item Number: BA.BA09017

ISBN 9790006535187. 31 x 24.5 cm inches.

Some of Beethoven's most enduring and unabashedly successful works stem from his so-calledMiddle Periodand in the genre of chamber music the three op. 59 quartets are an excellent example.

Jonathan Del Mar's scholarly critical edition of these quartets sets the record straight once and for all, restoring Beethoven's articulation, dynamics and lengths of slurs just as the composer originally intended.

The inter dependency of the sources and their readings are clearly laid out by Del Mar in his Critical Commentary, which also contains facsimiles pointing out ambiguities with previous editions.

- Barenreiter quality Urtext
- Critical Commentary (Eng) with facsimiles
- Meticulously laid out performance parts
- Study score includes historical introduction (Ger/Eng) by Barry Cooper

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


See Similar Sheet Music and Digital Downloads

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.