World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Sonatinas for Piano and Violin Op. Post. 137


By Franz Schubert

Strings Piano; Violin (Violin and Piano) - Henle Level 4-5
-. Composed by Franz Schubert (1797-1828). Edited by Gü and nter Henle. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. With marked and unmarked string parts. ABRSM syllabus Grade: 6 -- ABRSM 2018 remarks: rec., 2016-2019 -- TCL 2016 Grade: 8. Classical. Softcover. 72 pages. G. Henle #HN6. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480006).

Item Number: HL.51480006

ISBN 9790201800066. 9.25x12.25x0.325 inches.

Every young violinist is familiar with Schubert's sonatinas for violin and piano. The title "sonatinas" used here is derived from the posthumous print of 1836; Schubert himself called them "sonatas." The diminutive form was no doubt selected because the pieces are fairly easy to play; marketing considerations perhaps also played a role here. With their typically lively, Schubertian melodies, they are among the most popular pieces ever written for piano and violin, and have continuously maintained their position as "bestsellers" in the Henle catalog (having the "early" publisher's number 6!). Schubert wrote them in 1816, thus at the age of 19. The first edition sometimes diverges considerably from the autograph; fortunately it has survived almost in its entirety (missing is the finale of the 2nd sonatina). For this final movement, the first edition had to be consulted as a source.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Sonatina for Piano and Violin, D major, D 384 (Violin and piano)  Performed by Franz Schubert
  • Sonatina for Piano and Violin, A minor, D 385 (Violin and piano)  Performed by Franz Schubert
  • Sonatina for Piano and Violin, G minor, D 408 (Violin and piano)  Performed by Franz Schubert
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    New York
    Difficulty Level:
    Not sure
  • June 03, 2014 Henle scholarship & customer service

    I've long admired the engraving, printing, paper & binding quality of Henle editions. Recently I've gained a new respect for their scholarship, which for the first time makes their scores seem to me quite reasonably priced.Studying the first piece in this volume, I was amazed at the differences...

    I found between various editions, even three Urtext editions (Baerenreiter, Vienna, and Henle). Online research helped to some extent, including the free commentary on Henle's website from their publication of this piece's autographs in facsimile. But as the preface of this Sonatinas volume stated that Henle "will be pleased to furnish further information to those interested," I emailed my remaining questions, and two days later received a response generous both in detail and in respect for the complexity of the source situation and the different interpretations of other Urtext publishers.My only gripe: Henle misleadingly retains the traditional title of what Schubert called Sonatas.

    Read More
    2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.