World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Sonatas for Violin and Piano (Harpsichord) 1-3 BWV 1014-1016

Violin and Piano

By Johann Sebastian Bach

Be the first! Write a Review

Strings Piano Accompaniment, Violin (Violin and Piano) - Henle Level 4
Violin and Piano. Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Edited by Hans Eppstein. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. ABRSM syllabus Grade: 5,6,7 -- TCL 2016 Grade: 5, 6, 8. Classical. Softcover. 66 pages. G. Henle #HN198. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480198).

Item Number: HL.51480198

ISBN 9790201801988. 9.25x12.25 inches.

As Court Music Director in Cöthen, Johann Sebastian Bach devoted himself primarily to instrumental music. Among the works written there were his Sonatas for violin and obbligato harpsichord BWV 1014-1019, which have come down to us as a complete cycle. The violinist and harpsichordist/pianist are equally challenged here, and the sonatas – together with Bach's flute and viola da gamba sonatas – lay the foundation for the duo sonata in the modern sense, as the usual accompanying function of the basso continuo yields to an independent keyboard part that lends each sonata an individual profile. Our edition is largely based on the manuscript copies made by Bach's son-in-law Altnickol, supplemented by further sources. Additional text-critical comments round off this valuable Urtext edition.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Bach: Sonata A major BWV 1015 
  • Bach: Sonata b minor BWV 1014 
  • Bach: Sonata E major BWV 1016 

Buy Together




Buy both for $55.94

[ { "catalogRefId":"3764554", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"20074878", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.