World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Schwanengesang. Thirteen lieder on poems by Rellstab and Heine D 957 / "Die Taubenpost" D 965 A
High Voice
By Franz Schubert

Be the first! Write a Review

High voices, piano (High voice, Piano)
High Voice. Composed by Franz Schubert (1797-1828). Edited by Walther Durr. This edition: urtext edition. Stapled. Barenreiter Urtext. High Voice. Singing Score, anthology. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09116. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09116).

Item Number: BA.BA09116

ISBN 9790006529520. 30 x 23 cm inches. Language: German. Preface: Dürr, Walther. Text: Ludwig / Heine, Heinrich Rellstab.

After Schubert’s death in 1828, his brother Ferdinand passed on thirteen songs based on texts by Ludwig Rellstab and Heinrich Heine to the publisher Haslinger.

Schubert had only composed them shortly before his death, in August 1828. During his lifetime Schubert actually wanted to publish the two groups of Lieder separately. However, the Heine and Rellstab songs are indeed closely related. Haslinger added a fourteenth Lied, “Die Taubenpost”, based on a text by Johann Gabriel Seidl, which Schubert had composed at the same time as “Der Hirt auf dem Felsen” (D 965) one month before his death but which in no way bears any relation to the Rellstab and Heine Lieder. This collection was published posthumously by Haslinger early in May 1829, and it was named “Schwanengesang” – traditionally the term given to an artist’s last work before his death.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


  • Vorwort 
  • Preface 
  • Liedtexte / Song Texts 
  • "Schwanengesang". Dreizehn Lieder nach Gedichten von Rellstab und Heine (D 957) 
  • Lieder nach Ludwig Rellstab: 
  • 1. Liebesbotschaft  Lyrics by Rellstab, Ludwig
  • 2. Kriegers Ahnung  Lyrics by Rellstab, Ludwig
  • 3. Fruehlingssehnsucht  Lyrics by Rellstab, Ludwig
  • 4. Staendchen  Lyrics by Rellstab, Ludwig
  • 5. Aufenthalt  Lyrics by Rellstab, Ludwig
  • 6. In der Ferne  Lyrics by Rellstab, Ludwig
  • 7. Abschied  Lyrics by Rellstab, Ludwig
  • Lieder nach Heinrich Heine: 
  • 8. Der Atlas  Lyrics by Heine, Heinrich
  • 9. Ihr Bild  Lyrics by Heine, Heinrich
  • 10. Das Fischermaedchen  Lyrics by Heine, Heinrich
  • 11. Die Stadt  Lyrics by Heine, Heinrich
  • 12. Am Meer  Lyrics by Heine, Heinrich
  • 13. Der Doppelgaenger  Lyrics by Heine, Heinrich
  • Die Taubenpost D 965 A  Lyrics by Seidl, Johann Gabriel

Buy Together




Buy both for $39.94

[ { "catalogRefId":"19816987", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"6005443", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.