World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Piano Sonata in C Major K279 (189d)

Piano Solo

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Be the first! Write a Review

Piano Piano solo (Piano solo) - SMP Level 8 (Early Advanced)
Piano Solo. Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). Edited by Ernst Herttrich. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: 13. Classical. Softcover. 20 pages. G. Henle #HN600. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480600).

Item Number: HL.51480600

ISBN 9790201806006. 9.25x12.25 inches.

This “No. 1” of Mozart's eighteen total piano sonatas is nevertheless not the very first one that he composed. It is well known that the “Wunderkind” Mozart had previously written at least four piano sonatas (K. Anh. 199-202), though these have never surfaced. And the sequence 1-6 of the piano sonatas K. 279-284, which were probably composed in Munich at the beginning of 1775, is based solely on Mozart's retroactive numbering of them (with just the manuscript of the first movement of the first sonata having been lost). In the family correspondence these six sonatas are, incidentally, characterized many times as the “difficult sonatas.” That can scarcely be meant in a technical sense, but, as the editor of the Henle Urtext edition, Ernst Herttrich, surmises, might rather have alluded to their enormous “aesthetic, interpretive demands,” given that “Mozart furnished ... the six sonatas with exceptionally rich dynamic and articulation markings ... more than any of his previous works.&rdquo.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

About SMP Level 8 (Early Advanced)

4 and 5-note chords spanning more than an octave. Intricate rhythms and melodies.

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.