World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Missa in C minor K. 427 "Great Mass in C minor"
By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Be the first! Write a Review

Solo voices, SATB chorus, orchestra (Soprano solo (2), Tenor solo, Bass solo, Mixed choirs (SATB) (2), Orchestra)
Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). Edited by Ulrich Leisinger. Arranged by Ulrich Leisinger. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Barenreiter Urtext. Classical. Score. KV 427. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09188_00. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09188).

Item Number: BA.BA09188

ISBN 9790006565092. 31 x 24.3 cm inches. Key: C minor. Text Language: Latin. Preface: Ulrich Leisinger.

Mozart’s magnificent unfinished “Great Mass in C minor K. 427” is impressive not only for its monumentality and musical beauty but for its fragmentary state which has fascinated scholars and performers for decades.

Working together with the International Mozarteum Foundation in Salzburg, Barenreiter now presents a new edition of this work, reflecting the cutting edge of scholarship while doing justice to the needs of performers.

High scholarly standards, the completion and reconstruction of movements: this pioneering publication incorporates all this in order to come as close as possible to the work itself:
- The “Kyrie” and “Gloria”, both of which survive complete in Mozart’s hand, are edited in accordance with scholarly standards.
- The first two sections of the “Credo” have been meticulously completed by the editor Ulrich Leisinger, drawing on original Mozart compositions e.g. the aria “Deh vieni non tardar” from “The Marriage of Figaro” and paying attention to a stylistically appropriate and transparent sound.
- The “Sanctus” and “Benedictus” (with the “Hosanna”), which are either incomplete or survive only in secondary sources, have been reconstructed by the editor.

Sections without any known sources are left out in this edition. Rounding off the publication is an extensive Foreword (Ger/Eng).

The first performance of Ulrich Leisinger’s new edition was given in April 2019 in the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg by the Hamburg State Philharmonic Orchestra and the ChorWerk Ruhr under the baton of Kent Nagano. The first Austrian premiere took place in Salzburg on August 2019 in the Great Hall of the Mozarteum, with Andrew Manze conducting the Salzburg Camerata to rousing applause from audience and critics alike.

The C-minor Mass reconstruction by Helmut Eder on the basis of the New Mozart Edition (BA 4846) is still available: the score and performance material are on hire, the vocal score is on sale.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


See Similar Sheet Music and Digital Downloads

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.