World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Mikrokosmos - Volume 1 (Blue)

New Definitive Edition

By Bela Bartok

Be the first! Write a Review

New Definitive Edition. Composed by Bela Bartok (1881-1945). BH Piano. 20th Century, Hungarian and Instructional. Instructional book. With standard notation, introductory text and instructional text. 36 pages. Boosey & Hawkes #M060097317. Published by Boosey & Hawkes (HL.48011582).

Item Number: HL.48011582

ISBN 9780851626079. 9x12 inches.

The definitive edition (1987) of the piano teaching classic. Includes an introduction by the composer's son Peter Bartok. In 1945 Bela Bartok described Mikrokosmos as a cycle of 153 pieces for piano written for didactic purposes, seeing them as a series of pieces in many different styles, representing a small world, or as the world of the little ones, the children. Stylistically Mikrokosmos reflects the influence of folk music on Bartok's life and the rhythms and harmonies employed create music that is as modern today as when the cycle was written.ngarian. The 153 pieces making up Mikrokosmos are divided into six volumes arranged according to technical and musical difficulty. Major teaching points highlighted in Mikrokosmos 1: Unison melodies, Question and answer, Imitation and Inversion.

  • Six Unison Melodies 
  • Dotted Notes 
  • Repetition 
  • Syncopation 
  • With Alternate Hands 
  • Parallel Motion 
  • Reflection 
  • Change of Position 
  • Question And Answer 
  • Village Song 
  • Parallel Motion With Change Of Position 
  • Contrary Motion 
  • Four Unison Melodies 
  • Imitation And Counterpoint 
  • Imitation And Inversion 
  • Pastorale 
  • Canon At The Octave 
  • Imitation Reflected 
  • Canon At The Lower Fifth 
  • Dance In Canon Form 
  • In Dorian Mode 
  • Slow Dance 
  • In Phrygian Mode 
  • Chorale 
  • Free Canon 

Buy Together




Buy both for $23.94

[ { "catalogRefId":"4134276", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"20472378", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.