World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Easy Concert Pieces for Violin & Orchestra
Sheet Music Book
By Various

Book/Online Audio Violin
Composed by Various. Sheet music with CD. Music Minus One. Classical, Contest. Softcover Audio Online. 16 pages. Music Minus One #MMO3122. Published by Music Minus One (HL.400038).

Item Number: HL.400038

ISBN 9781596151512. 9.0x12.0x0.075 inches.

Performed by Geoffrey Applegate, violin Accompaniment: Stuttgart Symphony Orchestra Conductor: Emil Kahn Here, in a special album designed specifically for the violinist in the earlier stages of technical mastery, we have compiled much of the best literature and favorite selections for the violin. Specifically selected for the easiest keys on the violin and with a minimum of fancy finger - or bow - work, these magical classics, from Offenbach's legendary Barcarolle to Tchaikovsky's Chanson Triste, will bring a challenging and rewarding collection of short and medium-length concert-piece masterworks to inspire your development on the violin. Noted American violinist Geoffrey Applegate performs these pieces with grace and subtlety. Study his masterful interpretations and then, as he steps aside, learn and perform them against the magnificent backdrop of the Stuttgart Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Emil Kahn. This is quite simply a treasure-trove of beautiful violin classics which you will come back to again and again - even after you've established yourself as the next virtuoso! Includes a music score, printed on high-quality paper, and audio recordings containing a complete version with soloist, in stereo; then a second version in full stereo of the orchestral accompaniment, minus the soloist. The audio is accessed online using the unique code inside each book and can be streamed or downloaded. The audio files include PLAYBACK+, a multi-functional audio player that allows you to slow down audio without changing pitch, set loop points, change keys, and pan left or right.

  • Les Contes d'Hoffmann (Tales of Hoffman): Barcarolle (Moderato)  Performed by Jacques Offenbach
  • Drink to Me Only With Thine Eyes 
  • Old Folks At Home  Performed by Stephen Foster
  • Silent Night  Performed by Franz Gruber (m); Joseph Mohr (l)
  • Song of India  Performed by Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov
  • Chanson Triste  Performed by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
  • La Paloma  Performed by Sebastian Iradier (Yradier)
  • L'Arlesienne Suite: Adagietto  Performed by Georges Bizet
  • Die Lustige Witwe (The Merry Widow): 'Vilja'  Performed by Franz Lehar
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 3

    Difficulty Level:
    Early intermediate
  • February 07, 2012 Not to bad

    Les titres sont bien choisis, accessibles, agréables à jouer. Les partitions proposent de passer à l'octave parfois ce qui n'est pas facile à exécuter. Et malheureusement le CD est de mauvaise qualité, saute à la lecture.

    11 of 27 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • July 03, 2007 MY TYPE OF MUSIC

    After 60 years of not playing the violin I am enjoying my music again. Thanks to Sheet Music Plus

    34 of 63 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.