World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Duo for Violin and Violoncello, Fragment


By Ludwig van Beethoven

Be the first! Write a Review

Chamber Ensemble Cello, Violin (Violin and Violoncello)
Fragment. Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). Edited by Robert D. Levin. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Completed by Robert D. Levin. Classical. Softcover. 16 pages. G. Henle #HN1265. Published by G. Henle (HL.51481265).

Item Number: HL.51481265

ISBN 9790201812656. 10x12.75 inches.

While he was still in Bonn, perhaps in 1792 the year he departed for Vienna, Beethoven wrote this Duo for Violin and Violoncello. It is not known whether he ever completed his work as only the beginning of a fast sonata movement has survived. It is on a page in a collection of sketch leaves that is today known as the “Kafka Miscellany”. Robert D. Levin has completed this fragment in the same style and thus for the first time it is in a version that can be performed. Henle's edition contains two performance scores of this lively showpiece, thus guaranteeing an optimal duo experience. A welcome addition to the repertoire!

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.