World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Concerto for Piano and Orchestra C Major Op. 15, No. 1
2 Pianos, 4 Hands Sheet Music Book
By Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano 2 Pianos, 4 Hands; Piano Duet (2 Pianos, 4-hands) - SMP Level 10 (Advanced)
2 Pianos, 4 Hands. Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). Edited by Hans-Werner Kü and then. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: VIII and 104. Classical. Softcover. 112 pages. G. Henle #HN433. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480433).

Item Number: HL.51480433

ISBN 9790201804330. 9.25x12.25x0.346 inches.

Ludwig van Beethoven conquered the musical city of Vienna as a pianist, creating outstanding works for his instrument. These also include his five piano concertos. The Concerto No. 1 in C major op. 15 immediately attracted great attention. Its broad structure, the large orchestral accompaniment and the powerful, brilliant solo part represent a clear evolution of this genre after Mozart. This study edition provides the text of the Beethoven Complete Edition in a handy format and is complemented by a detailed preface about the work's complex genesis and source situation. This edition corrects numerous errors and irregularities that were found in earlier editions. The specialist press was full of praise: “Hans-Werner Kuthen gives these masterpieces the editions that they deserve.”.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

About SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

Very advanced level, very difficult note reading, frequent time signature changes, virtuosic level technical facility needed.

  • Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1, C major, op. 15 (2 pianos, 4-hands)  Performed by Ludwig Van Beethoven
  • Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1, C major, op. 15 (Orchestral works)  Performed by Ludwig Van Beethoven
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • May 27, 2014 Excellent

    I recommend this book because, as all of Henle editions, it's very clear and easy to read, it's very accurate, and the reduction can be easily read compared to others. The concerto is a pretty simple classic one, but it's still a Beethoven's Concerto and it...

    has some interesting things. The concerto is not really difficult, there are just a few tricky passages.

    Read More
    One person found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Bear C.
    Milwaukee, WI
    Difficulty Level:
  • July 12, 2011 Beethoven Concerto # 1

    You can have a lot of fun with this piece, which is not nearly as difficult as 3, 4, or 5, or as many of the sonatas. But it is a Beethoven concerto. This less frequently heard work is very beautiful and you won't so readily (unfavorably) compare yourself...

    with magnificent performances of the more frequently heard concerti. The transcription and work remain coherent when practicing or playing solo. The transcription is accurate and, so far, the binding is holding up.

    Read More
    31 of 53 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.