World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Capriccio for Piano Left Hand and Wind Ensemble

By Leos Janacek

Be the first! Write a Review

Piano-solo, winds (piano-Solo, Fl(Fl-Picc), 2 Trp-c, 3trombone, Tb-T, Hn)
Composed by Leos Janacek (1854-1928). Edited by Jarmila Prochazkova and Leos Faltus. This edition: urtext edition. Stapled. Barenreiter Urtext. Performance score, set of parts. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09535. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09535).

Item Number: BA.BA09535

ISBN 9790260104907. 31 x 24.5 cm inches. Text Language: Czech/English/German. Preface: Jarmila Prochazkova.

One of Leos Janacek's last chamber music works was written in the autumn of 1926 at the suggestion of the pianist Otakar Hollmann (1894-1967), an invalid from the First World War.

Like his contemporary Paul Wittgenstein, Hollmann urged composers to write something for piano left hand; he succeeded in winning over Bohuslav Martinu, Erwin Schulhoff and Janacek to do this. Janacek did not want, as he put it, to compose adance for one leg, but finally wrote a four-movement work with associations to military music, scored for piano, flute (piccolo), two trumpets, three trombones (preferably valve trombones because of the fast passages) and a tenor tuba. The French horn was allowed by the composer to substitute the tuba.

The Capriccio was premiered by Otakar Hollmann and members of the Czech Philharmonic in Prague on 2 March 1928 in the presence of the enthusiastic composer.

The new edition is based on volume E/5 of theCritical Complete Edition of the Works of Leos Janacek.

- Urtext based on theCritical Complete Edition of the Works of Leos Janacek
- New foreword ( Cz /Eng/Ger) by the editor Jarmila Prochazkova
- Includes additional part for French horn


About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.