World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Avant-dernieres Pensees

By Erik Satie

Be the first! Write a Review

Piano Piano solo (Piano solo) - Henle Level 2-3
Composed by Erik Satie (1866-1925). Edited by Ulrich Kramer. Arranged by Pascal Roge. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Classical. Softcover. 20 pages. G. Henle #HN1181. Published by G. Henle (HL.51481181).

Item Number: HL.51481181

ISBN 9790201811819. 9x12 inches.

In a typically humorous manner Satie countered the myth of the great master's “last thought” with his “Next-to-last thoughts” (“Avant-dernières Pensées”). As was usual with his piano works from 1912 onwards, each of the three highly distinctive pieces with their sound sensitive piano settings contained a short whimiscal story printed in the musical text as a subtext, which is more or less closely connected with the music. Satie dedicated his “Next-to-last thoughts” to prominent contemporaries: Claude Debussy (for no. 1 “Idylle”), with whom he was close friends; Paul Dukas (no. 2 “Aubade,” in English “Dawn Serenade”), whose music he greatly admired; and Albert Roussel (no. 3 “Méditation”), his former teacher of counterpoint at the Schola Cantorum in Paris.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.