World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


3 Classic Duke Quintets
Brass Quintet
By The Canadian Brass

Score and Parts Brass Quintet
Brass Quintet. By The Canadian Brass. By Duke Ellington (1899-1974). Arranged by Luther Henderson. Brass Ensemble. Jazz, Swing. Score and Parts. Published by Canadian Brass (HL.50489969).

Item Number: HL.50489969

ISBN 9781423485179. 8.5x11.0x0.298 inches. The Canadian Brass Ensemble Series arr. Luther Henderson.

Three of Ellington's best in the same masterly arrangements recorded by The Canadian Brass: The Cottontail Caper * Sophisticated Lady * It Don't Mean a Thing. "These favorite Duke Ellington tunes...are for high school players and beyond who can perform shakes, accents, rips, lip trills, muted licks, and extreme range (high C in the first trumpet part)."--The Instrumentalist.

  • Cotton Tail 
  • It Don't Mean a Thing (If it ain't got That Swing) 
  • Sophisticated Lady 

16 - Bb Trumpet 1 1 page

16 - Bb Trumpet 2 1 page

16 - F Horn 1 page

32 - Score 1 page

16 - Trombone 1 page

16 - Tuba 1 page

  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • August 02, 2014 The Indispensable Luther Henderson

    When Luther Henderson passed away, we lost an American treasure. This collection was obviously intended to show the different sides of Duke Ellington. Though it was probably a labor of love, Luther Henderson not only captured him, he demonstrated the craftsmanship of a truly great arranger. The work titled It...

    Don't Mean a Thing if it Ain't Got that Swing! alone is worth the price. If you want to wow your audience or show what kind an ensemble you have, this is it. You can hear this on either Canadian Brass recordings Brass on Broadway (with rhythm) or Take the A Train (without rhythm section).

    Read More
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.