World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


21 Selected Piano Works

By Franz Liszt

Piano solo - SMP Level 10 (Advanced)
Composed by Franz Liszt (1811-1886). Edited by Joseph Banowetz. Masterworks; Piano Collection. Alfred Masterwork Library CD Editions. Classical Period. Collection. With introductory text, performance notes, fingerings, pedal markings and performance CD. 96 pages. Alfred Music #00-26191. Published by Alfred Music (AP.26191).

Item Number: AP.26191

ISBN 9780739043455. 9x12 inches. English.

Internationally renowned concert pianist Joseph Banowetz presents this definitive collection of original masterworks by Franz Liszt featuring a comprehensive preface, composer biography, vintage photographs, and detailed performance notes on the solos. The companion CD features Joseph Banowetz performing Liszt's most cherished piano repertoire:

Ehemals, from Weihnachtsbaum, S. 186/10 * Etude, Op. 6, No. 7; S. 136/7 * Ich liebe dich, S. 542a (posth) * Liebeslied: Widmung (easier version), S. 566 (posth.) (Robert Schumann, trans. by Liszt) * Liebestraume: 3 notturnos, S. 541 * No. 2: Gestorben war ich (first version) * No. 3: O lieb, o lieb, so lang du lieben kannst * Piano Piece in A-flat Major, S. 189a (posth.) * Marche de Rakoczy--Edition populaire, S. 244/15 * Resignazione, S.187a (posth.) * Romance, S. 169 (posth.) * Romance oubliee, S. 527 * Ruhig, S. 167a (posth.) * Scherzo, S. 153 (posth.) * Six Consolations, S. 172 * No. 1 in E Major * No. 2 in E Major * No. 3 in D-flat Major * No. 4 in D-flat Major * No. 5 in E Major * No. 6 in E Major * Standchen, S. 560/7 (Franz Schubert, trans. by Liszt) * Valse oubliee, No. 1, S. 215/1

Joseph Banowetz graduated with a First Prize from the Vienna Akademie fur Musik und darstellende Kunst. Banowetz has been a piano recitalist and orchestral soloist on five continents. He was awarded the Liszt Medal by the Hungarian Liszt Society in recognition of his outstanding performances of Liszt and the Romantic literature.

About SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

Very advanced level, very difficult note reading, frequent time signature changes, virtuosic level technical facility needed.

  • Ehemnals, from Weihnachtsbaum  S. 186/10, Composed by Franz Liszt
  • Etude, Op. 6, No. 7  S. 136/7, Composed by Franz Liszt
  • Ich Liebe Dich  S. 542a (posth.), Composed by Franz Liszt
  • Liebeslied: Widmung (easier version)  S. 566 (posth.), Composed by Robert Schumann (trans. By Liszt)
  • Liebestraume: 3 notturnos  S. 541, Composed by Franz Liszt
  • No. 2: Gestorben war ich (first version) 
  • No. 3: O lieb, o lieb, so lang du lieben kannst 
  • Piano Piece in A-flat Major  S. 189a (posth.)
  • Marche de Rakoczy-Edition populaire pour piano  S. 244/15
  • Resignazione  S. 187a (posth.)
  • Romance  S. 169 (posth.)
  • Romance oubliee  S. 527
  • Ruhig  S. 167a
  • Scherzo  S. 156 (posth.)
  • Six Consolations  S. 172
  • No. 1 in E Major 
  • No. 2 in E Major 
  • No. 3 in D-flat Major 
  • No. 4 in D-flat Major 
  • No. 5 in E Mjor 
  • No. in E major 
  • Standchen  S. 560/7, Composed by Franz Schubert (trans. By Liszt)
  • Vasle oubliee, No. 1  S. 215/1

Buy Together




We recommend purchasing
21 Selected Piano Works
Sonatina Album

Buy both for $29.94

[ { "catalogRefId":"7795050", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"3505874", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 4

    Difficulty Level:
  • November 02, 2019 Great Music Not a Great Book

    It's hard to read the book because it doesn't have a spiral spine so you have to bend the book at the seams in order to have it lay flat. Music is great.

    One person found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 2

    Difficulty Level:
  • September 13, 2018 NOT for the advanced pianist

    I was very disappointed when I received this. It is advertised as advanced level music, but it is only intermediate level, at most, and the version of Standchen (the reason I ordered this book) is a VERY simplified and shortened version.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Sebastian Gallardo Barton
    Difficulty Level:
  • September 28, 2014 Excelente

    Es una colección maravillosa para un pianista de un nivel intermedio, las piezas de la colección no son de gran dificultad pero no por eso dejan de ser hermosas , muy conforme

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • January 24, 2013 Liszt 21 piano works.

    This book contains Romance in EMinor by Liszt.I saw Lang Lang play it on TV.and it is a very beautiful composition.It is not an easy piece to learn as the left hand impinges on the right hand,there are also reapeated notes in the left hand which...

    are difficult to blend with the right hand;but it is well worth learning as it is magical to play. There is also other compositions in the book of which I was unaware. The book is worth the cost!

    Read More
    9 of 16 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 4

    California, USA
    Difficulty Level:
  • August 09, 2011 nice selection of intermediate works

    I got this because I needed a good copy of the Romance S. 169 score, but there are many other nice works in this edition for the intermediate-level pianist to enjoy. It includes the three Liebestraume nocturnes, six Consolations and others. The next one I'll probably learn is...

    Liszt's transcription of Schubert's Standchen (Serenade), a gorgeous piece. This is a simpler version than others I've heard, such as the version Rachmaninoff played, and should be quite accessible to an intermediate player like me. The only complaint I have with this edition is the binding -- it won't lay flat at all :-( I would have gladly paid a little more for a spiral-bound version. Other than that, it's a great edition and a good value.

    Read More
    25 of 46 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.